Sunday, August 29, 2010

How to Speed Up the iPhone/iPod Backup in iTunes

I noticed over the past months the iPhone Backup process in iTunes was taking 15~20 minutes every time I did a iPhone/iTunes Sync, so I decided to find a way to make the iPhone backup process faster.

When you synchronize your iPhone/iPod using iTunes, the crash reports are copied to your computer. Then the crash logs are uploaded to Apple. The process can take a while to do. A Long While. Sometimes Apple's servers don't respond and the file collect on your computer for the next time you run iTunes and sync with Apple's servers.

The Fix? Delete the Crash Reports from your computer.

First open the following location on you computer:

Note: Where "UserName" is the user account your using with iTunes

Note: Where "DeviceName" is the Name of your iPhone/iPod


Using Windows 7:

C:\Users\"UserName"\AppData\Roaming\Apple Computer\Logs\CrashReporter\MobileDevice\"DeviceName"\

Using Windows XP:

C:\Documents and Settings\"UserName"\Application Data\Apple Computer\Logs\CrashReporter\MobileDevice\"DeviceName"\


Using Mac OS/X:

/Users/"UserName"/Library/Logs/CrashReporter/MobileDevice/"DeviceName"


Next you will want to delete all of the .crash report files, the crash report's file name begins with the application name and contains date/time information and the "DeviceName" will appear at the end of the file name, before the extension.

After I deleted my .crash files, my 'backup' went from 15~20 minutes to just a few minute. A noticeable difference.

Hope this helps.

3 comments:

amine said...

Yeah dude !! Hi , well this helps a lot...I was figuring out a way to fasten itunes and this is one of the things to do..Thanks for sharing..hope many will read this...see ya

DivineMsA said...

Thanks for the great how-to! I have a subfolder in the crash folder called "baseband" and it contains alot of files as well. Any idea if I can delete those as well? My backups are taking a ridiculously long time.

Thanks, divinemsa

Nethead said...

Yes, you can delete files and the files in the "Panic" folder also.

I clean out all 3 after every sync, no issues.

Hope this post helps :)